Transportation, Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Committee


  • 4:00 p.m. on Fourth Tuesday of every other month
  • 80 Fair Oaks Lane, Atherton, CA 94027 | Council Chambers

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View Archive of All Agendas

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Approved Minutes | View Archive of All Approved Minutes


The current members of the Committee are:

Contact Us

Dan Larsen

Police Commander 

Email Larsen

Joe Davis
Term: 6/2021 - 6/2025

Tom Owen
Term: 6/2020 - 6/2024

Raymond Juballa
Term: 6/2023 - 6/2027

Term: 6/2026              

City Council Liaisons:
Stacy Holland, Councilmember (Primary)
Bill Widmer, Councilmember (Alternate)

Jerome Leugers
Term: 6/2023 - 6/2027                 

Steve Baloff
Term: 6/2021 - 6/2025 

David Jones
Term: 6/2020 - 6/2024  



The Transportation, Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Committee makes recommendations to the CIty Council on issues related to transportation, traffic, roadway, pedestrian and bicycle safety. This Committee shall satisfy the requirements of the Metropolitan Transportation Committee as the Town’s Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. Acting in an advisory capacity, the Committee shall have the following powers and duties:

a. Upon request, make recommendations to the City Council in all matters pertaining to transportation, traffic, and roadway safety within the Town.
b. As needed, assist staff in the identification and review of traffic and roadway safety enhancements.
c. As needed, assist staff in the review of regional project impacts on local traffic and transportation corridors.
d. As needed, assist staff in the review of traffic safety enforcement measures.
e. As needed, assist staff in the review of Neighborhood Traffic Management Program requests.
f. Work with staff in providing recommendations on issues related to the Town’s bicycle and pedestrian network and Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan.
g. Make recommendations to the City Council on the selection of bicycle and pedestrian projects to be submitted for state and federal funding opportunities.
h. Work with staff to promote bicycling and walking as safe and healthy alternative modes of transportation, including safe routes to schools.
i. Assist Town staff in the planning, operations and maintenance of bicycle and pedestrian facilities in Town.

Membership and Terms

The Police Department shall have overall responsibility of the Transportation, Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Committee. The Chief of Police will coordinate with the Public Works Department when Public Works staff are needed for the meeting.

Membership should be composed of both bicyclists and pedestrians. The Committee consists of seven (7) appointed members and one City Council Member Liaison. The committee membership will be reduced to five (5) members through term expirations and member resignations. Committee-appointed members shall serve terms of four-years.

The Committee shall annually select one of its members to act as a Chair and another to act as Vice Chair. The Police Department serves as secretary to the Committee.